September 27, 2009

  • The International Beer Connoisseur

    THE INTERNATIONAL BEER CONNOISSEUR 


    Many of you have told me that you are envious of the fact that I get to travel all of the time. My job does allow me to visit exotic locations like Louisville, Cleveland, Des Moines, and Minneapolis where I get to soak up the rich history and diverse culture. My travels have truly allowed me to become the quintessential Renaissance Man. However, my son Jordan (in a vain attempt to mimic my sophistication and worldliness) has recently moved to a city in the Netherlands called Maastricht. 

    Ostensibly, this is a four month trip in which my son is shepherding a group of undergrads during a semester abroad while he lectures and does research for his dissertation. The truth, however, is that it is all a ruse that is allowing him to run all over Europe and drink beer.

    He has posted pictures from Salzburg, Munich, Prague, Amsterdam, Brussels, Paris, and Vienna, and I just got a post card from him while he was in Copenhagen, (for all of my readers from Oklahoma, Copenhagen is an actual city in Denmark and not just a brand of snuff) and in every group of pictures there are numerous photos of him drinking beer.

    I’m so frickin’ jealous I can hardly stand it.

    All kidding aside, my son and his lovely wife are enjoying the opportunity of a lifetime and I couldn’t be happier for him or prouder of him.

    I give you Jordan LaBouff: Friend, Teacher, Scholar, Intellectual, Writer, Video Gaming Expert, Rock Star, and International Beer Connoisseur.



    You could try to be cooler than my son, but you would fail miserably.

    EDIT: As further evidence of his beer-fueled rampage of Europe,  I offer the following photo he posted this morning from Oktoberfest in Munich:


Comments (13)

  • Really nice blog. I love people who love their cool kids. Kudos!

  • So…he’s just like his dad!  (My son is cool, as well…double majors in Chemistry and Physics, and wants to go to grad school somewhere with a national science foundation lab.  I have no idea what he’s talking about 90% of the time, which impresses the hell out of me.)

  • How cool for him! My son’s been working on a cruise ship, in the Baltic Sea. He’s seen quite a few wonderful places and I am insanely jealous, too.

  • I learned everything I know (except the beer drinking) from this amazing man in Oklahoma. There’s still time to plan a trip to come visit. Scotland in November? Miss you!

  • Oh Yeah! Well I go to Michigan every Wednesday. So THERE!

  • And better looking than you , too! JK!

  • It’s wonderful to have a son of whom you can be so proud! And you should be! It sounds like an opportunity every parent would be thrilled to see their son or daughter have the opportunity to take. Congratulations to him!

    Kathi

  • DAMN!  Now that’s a BEER!

  • Lucky for him and his coolness he doesn’t look much like you. (-: Ha ha, just kidding! I see Mark written all over that guy!

    Sounds like he is having a fabuloso semester – are those 2 going to start popping out grandkids any time soon or just keep gallivanting in interesting places?

  • that’s so cool! i’m jealous, too. haha

  • Since I don’t drink beer, I can’t be jealous for the usual reasons. However, I can be jealous of the way cool time he’s having! And of you for having such a cool kid!

    Sorry to read that you are now blind… I always thought that blindness was caused by…. thank you for clearing that up.

  • WOOHOO OKTOBERFEST

  • I TOTALLY agree and would not even attempt to try and keep up!!!

    HE ROCKS!!!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *