May 28, 2013

  • BROTHER MARK HAS LEFT THE BUILDING

    Many of you know that I’ve been in the ministry (as a worship pastor) through the last five Popes.( I’m not Catholic but I like measuring things in papal time.) I was called to be the Music Director at Eastwood Baptist Church in Midwest City, OK. in 1976 during my freshman year in college and have continued in either full time or part time service for the past 37 years. About three months ago I decided it was time to put down my torn and dusty copy of “Music Leading for Dummies” and join the ranks of church civilians.

    That’s right: Brother Mark has left the building.

    The stated reason for my decision was that the demands of my secular job (the one that actually pays real money) was hindering my ability to adequately perform the duties of my ministry job (the one that cost me twice as much in taxes and gas money than I was being paid.) While that is true, several people asked if that was the only reason for my decision to vacate that position. My only answer to that is a phrase that has served me well during those 37 years in the ministry: “That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.”

    (For the record: If “lay” person means someone who can lay in bed on Sunday morning instead of being in the sanctuary before God wakes up, I now understand why folks want to be lay people.)

    I will admit that I have really missed being in the pulpit the last three months and there have been some withdrawal symptoms. I occasionally try to get our four dogs to sing a quartet, but they end up wandering off to randomly mark their territory; a problem I actually had with several choir members over the years. Also, on the Sundays that I’ve stayed home I completely lose track of what day it is and I forget that I need to try to beat the Methodists to Panera Bread.

    One of the main things I miss is that I started every service by introducing the “theme” for the day with a story. My reason for doing this is that I tried my best to preach the entirety of our pastor’s sermon in three minutes. I did this because:

    1. When I was successful, it annoyed him, and that made me happy.
    2. To prove that all sermons can be preached in three minutes or less and the rest is just fluff.

    The real question now is whether or not I’m going to make a good church member. To be honest, I don’t really have a good answer to that question yet. Whether or not I end up being in a pew every Sunday or being someone who goes to brunch at Piccadilly’s at 10:00 a.m. and then goes home to watch PGA golf remains to be seen, but I’m going to give it my best shot.

    There are some things about being a civilian I am looking forward too. For example, I can actually say what I think now. If you think that church staff people can actually say what they think, you are probably riding the short buss to Sunday school. To be somewhat free of the bonds of church politics excites me, and makes my pastor very, very nervous. I’m also looking forward to randomly sitting in pews that church members have had staked out for decades just to watch their heads explode because they can’t stand change.

    Yes, Brother Mark has left the building, and I miss him…

    …and I don’t.

Comments (8)

  • For just a moment (only because I really can’t think of anything snarkily clever) I will put aside any funny comments and just say I that I hope that you find fulfillment and joy in this next stage. Music is so uplifting and wonderful but the constraints of a church setting I’m sure were occasionally, um..challenging. :

  • Good luck on your lay personage. Sounds like your to-do list (brunch, exploding church heads with your zany antics and sleeping in til 10am) will keep you busy for a couple of month of Sundays. Then you will be back here to tell us what is next. At least I hope you keep us in your loop. Thanks!

  • Enjoy civilian life!

  • I had to check, it looks like you joined the choir while Paul 6 was on the throne. I figured that a worship pasta (WP) was some kind of Prod clergy and I see you are (were?) a Southern Baptist. The various Prod sects seem to have as much of a hierarchy set up as the Fenians they left on the shelf. I wondered if there are any beliefs amongst the baptisers that have grown up since the Civil War de Gringos which keeps them from unity again, if they were ever unified, which I doubt, apart from many of the hierarchy fearful of their positions. Then, I read The Word of Wiki and see that there are, but I digress as is my wont.I think the main reason I like the Baptist approach is that they appear not to adhere to John Boy Calvin, the notorious burner of men.So a WP organizes the music I assume. Not sure why music is necessary but I assume it helps some traditions to better elicit the appropriate emotion. I used to prefer the Benedictine chant myself but who’s counting.Anyway, good luck for your hike on the highway of heathens

  • I used to try to be everything I could to help make the church successful – then I realized it was their God and not me that could do that…when I figured that out…I totally lost interest in trying to help fix the mess.This was by far your best and most truthful line….”I’m also looking forward to randomly sitting in pews that church members have had staked out for decades just to watch their heads explode because they can’t stand change.”an getting to Panera before the Methodists!!! hahahahahaha

  • We gradually phased out from doing practically everything in the building. Church became a more meaningfull experience when it stopped being a chore on the to do list. All the best to you!

  • Just saw this – funny, as always! I am sad to have lost my opportunity to get to sing specials with very little preparation, though. And you know I LIKE the very little prep part! I am a busy lady, I don’t have time for months of preplanning!! It was fun, though, and the only opportunity I really got to hang out with you, both of which I will miss. I hope no heads explode, though, as that is going to be awfully messy.

  • Hmmmm…. The most widely innovative information at your site has impressed lots of the people including me and my friends.decking constructions perth

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *