August 7, 2012

  • Xanga, what happened to you? And why am I letting you turn me into a homicidal maniac?

    XANGA, WHAT HAPPENED TO YOU? AND WHY AM I LETTING YOU TURN ME INTO A HOMICIDAL MANIAC? 

    I joined Xanga back in 2004 when dinosaurs roamed the earth and Dan the Theologian didn’t exist (well, technically, I’m sure he existed as a person, but he hadn’t yet become the Justin Beiber of the blogosphere.) It was a lovely time. There were flowers in the meadow, birds sang a happy tune, and everyone on Xanga held hands and sang “Kum-ba-yah.” I had many friends here; wonderful, snarky, smart, irreverent people who were pleasant and funny and a joy to converse with. Xanga made me happy. 

    I primarily posted silly stuff about topics as diverse as ass acne, midget strippers, and why “Kum-and-Go” is the worst name for a convenience store chain ever. I approached these subjects with all of the maturity and decorum one would expect from any group of 13 year old males in a locker room. I did post often about politics and religion but it was always in a humorous vein with just enough bite to make a point without being (overly) offensive. 

    I realize I’m a weird duck when it comes to politics and religion. I am a former Southern Baptist Pastor who graduated from Bible College and Seminary. I was the ultimate hard-core Republican. I made Rush Limbaugh look like a Marxist. I was in the ministry full time for many years, but as the years rolled by I slowly began to realize that many of the things I believed in simply didn’t hold water (at least for me.) One day, as I was walking down the Damascus Road, Al Franken appeared to me in a vision and ask me why I was persecuting Democrats. That was my conversion moment. I left full time ministry and made my way in the business world. I joined the Disciples of Christ denomination and took a part time job as the Pastor for Worship and Arts at a small church here in Tulsa. We are one very small step away from being Unitarians. I’m now a Universalist when it comes to my religious philosophy and I’ve gone from being a hard-core Republican to being a Democrat so liberal that I make Nancy Pelosi and Harry Reid uncomfortable.  

    In the business world I deal a lot with churches. One day a customer of mine found my Xanga blog. He laughed about my postings but it scared me to death. I don’t know why this hadn’t occured to me, but I realized that any of my customers could find out how much of a whack-job liberal I was and that it could seriously affect my business. I changed the name of my blog, went through and eliminated all references to my real name, and took a 3 1/2 year hiatus.  

    Almost no one (not even most of my church members) know my political and religious philosophies. In real life I keep those things entirely to myself. I live in Oklahoma, the land of Jim Inhofe, the “Personhood Amendment,” and open carry laws. It’s actually dangerous sometimes to admit you’re a Democrat in this state. If you’re not careful it can get you pulled into a back alley and gang raped by a bunch of red-neck good ole’ boys, who are denying their latent homosexuality.  

    I never mention politics or religion on Facebook and after 3 1/2 years I was dying for an outlet to voice my baby-killin, tree-huggin, homo-lovin views… 

    …so I came back to Xanga, and it is NOT the same place I left. 

    All but a very small handful of my former friends have left. Xanga now seems to be a place of unrelenting drama overrun with 20 somethings who are convinced they have the world completely figured out. I made the mistake of surfing by Revelife (which I didn’t know existed.) I thought, “I wonder if they would actually publish a post from someone with my views?” To their credit, they did, but holy-shit-Batman, the crazies come out. 

    I was dumfounded by the level of hostility I was the target of, and to be as honest as I know how to be, I did not respond well. The angrier my commenters became the angrier I became. I allowed myself to believe that their hostility justified my hostility and I found myself leaving comments on various sites that I was later mortified by. 

    There are people on Xanga who are nothing more than pot-stirrers like Prisonerxofxlove. Obviously they revel in driving people like me insane and they do a very good job of it. However, there are people like Dan the Theologian who have their viewpoints but are generally not acerbic about them.  

    I had a really bad day a couple of days ago. I signed on to Facebook and read through scores of posts about how all of us Democrats want to force everyone in the country to be gay, stand in line for toilet paper, and provide free crack to everyone on welfare. I can’t say anything on Facebook so I signed on to Xanga and the first post I clicked on was Dan’s post about re-distributing Michael Phelp’s gold medals to Canada. I went completely ape-shit and fired off a comment wishing death, destruction, and anal warts to him and everyone he has ever come in contact with. We went a few rounds on my site and then I slammed down the computer and stormed off to have a glass of wine or seven and calm down. I came back the next day and read what I written on his site and I’ve never been so embarrassed in my life. I deleted my comment and our exchange on my site and sat with my head in hands wondering how I had allowed myself to become exactly what I despise in others.  

    So…I’m taking a big chill pill. I’m going to avoid sites that I know will cause me anger management issues and I’m going to go back and start posting about relevant issues like ass acne. I may post something political or religious on occasion, but if you disagree with me please keep your comments civil and I promise to do the same. 

    If not, I’m coming after you with my group of ass-raping red neck buddies. They don’t know I’m a Democrat. 

     

Comments (30)

  • As a former member of the IFCA – the Independent Fundamental Churches of America – I hear you. I am sure all of my former church friends look at me and think that I’m a terrible backslider and pray for my wayward soul.

    Xanga really is dicey these days and yet, there are some amazingly, wonderful people here. The few wonderful people here make it worth the trouble.

  • Exactly why I posted my most recent post. I love my Xanga and Facebook friends dearly but my opinions are clearly that…MY opinion. Everyone has their own, but sometimes people just don’t like it when you share yours. Never in this world will everyone agree on everything. I think everyone is entitled to their opinion but some people can’t do it without hurting others. I know where my heart stands with God. I haven’t been to church in over 4 years because I got tired of the backstabbing hypocrits that can be found every Sunday in the pews….who are messing around on their spouses or drunk every weekend….but that is their life and that is between them and God. He is the one going to judge all of us. I know I’m wrong to be judging others. I think it’s a human thing. Nobody’s perfect.

  • The Xanga drama is definitely the wrong crowd. Stay away and just hang out with us middle aged women who worship you. I don’t do drama. Not in my real life and not online. Every once in awhile I want to comment but I usually talk myself out of it.

  • What an amazing writing hand you have,sir! Agreeing with you practically none of the time has never made me appreciate you less. I too have journeyed away from xanga, and it seems another planet from 5 years ago! Yet writing did something helpful for me, only this platform doesn’t seem to be what it was.

    All the best to you on the journey.

  • The warts came but fortunately they were easily cured.

    I don’t tend to get upset about stuff like that.

    I thought 2004-2005 were ruthless on xanga and I thought it has calmed down a bit since then. But if I went and commented on xanga in 2005, I tended to read at least a few negative posts a day about my site or me. And I just don’t get much of that anymore.

  • The image of Jesus once appeared in my anal acne, so I know how relevant it is.

  • I know what you mean about the drama. Stay far away from it. I’m a 20 something and I’m not a huge fan of it either. Hilarious rant by the way.

  • I have family that goes to your church..small world.

  • I saw that comment on Dan’s site, but forgot it was you until you mentioned it. If you let it get to you, the terrorists win. You know, I wish there was a page in “Explore” to see all of the currently active members who are logged in so that you could click on random profiles and find people who don’t make Top Blogs or have a lot of followers. I think I’ll submit that idea.

  • I usually read most of Dan’s (and others who are similar) posts as satire, and most of the time just do that “scoff” and then move on.

  • I’m a Democrat and I go to church. You know how that makes a Republican’s head spin. LOL I live in Misosuri…gun totin’ rural missouri. Yikes! Hang in there.

  • I’ve learned certain areas of Xanga to avoid and generally, who I can and cannot have a civilized debate with. I’m Republican but I’ve never been one to try and “win over” anyone to my side or my personal beliefs, politically or otherwise. I don’t avoid Democrat blogs all-together but I’ve come to steer clear of the ones whom I know are purposely inflammatory. Just the same, I try to avoid Republicans who do the same thing, as well as people of other political parties. There are people here who can put out the information they feel to be true and correct without rallying a lynch mob on either side. It’s rare, I think, but it’s there. Some things you just really have to take with a grain of salt. I’ve had times when I couldn’t sleep at night because I was so enraged about something someone said but it’s truly not worth it.

  • That religious stuff can get pretty deep. Just look up in the sky, smile. Say gosh I don’t know why I’m here – and I don’t really care. I just wanna have fun – and then go out there and get crazy happy with someone you love !

    I recommend KissSilent’s Post.

  • To play devil’s advocate for just a sec, while not denying that Revelife is what it is, it seems to have one virtue more consistently than some other parts of the Xangasphere, namely the bloggers there have something to say. And memory can put a rosy hue on the past—don’t forget there used to be a blogring called “Grown-ups with content WORTH being featured,” or something like that. There was always behavior fit for middle school here, although it does strike me that, now, the Xangans who really are thirteen-year-olds seem comparatively well behaved.

  • haha I got abused by someone on xanga after I commented on something on lovely-ish. They were saying I was stupid and whatever just because I used ‘lol’ or didn’t write the same way they did. They even said they wished I would die in a car crash or something wierd like that. So I understand the drama thing. I stay away from it. Frankly, I find it embarassing too.

  • “I’m now a Universalist when it comes to my religious philosophy and I’ve gone from being a hard-core Republican to being a Democrat so liberal that I make Nancy Pelosi and Harry Reid uncomfortable.”

    I’ll sub you just for that!

  • I know that feeling well. I am some what of a “closet atheist” in Texas. My facebook still says “christian ” most of the people that know me still think that I am. Its weird some times having the only people you can relate that side of your life to are people on the internet and no one you know personally.

  • There are benefits to no one following you — no one gets pissed at your rants.

  • I’m with @Tracy hang with us old women who worship your writing!! I also come from a bible thumping, literal bible, bible college background….right into my questioning everything…which morphed into Seer=ee==aw–sly you-believe-what stage… While I’m always open to intellectual conversation – I’m never open to shepherd/sheep mentality with me being the sheep. I’ve been reading you for awhile but sorry to say I missed the important conversation about ass acne…and I would love to hear your thoughts on actresses crying on TV with a moist upper lip…everyone I know wipes their nose when they are crying!!

  • @Ninasusan -  and @tracy -  Nina, I’m a little disappointed that you clarified Tracy’s comment about worship. You said there are middle aged women who worship my WRITING. I was all excited because Tracy had said that there are middle aged women who worship ME. I guess this means I’m going to have cancel my plans to start a cult. Shucks…

  • I’m feeling the same way about xanga these days.

  • I have seen my best friend disappear at Xanga a few years ago, and I am sad because of it. Not sure if he still has his site here, but if he has, he has made it invisible for us. And I have seen that other friends in his circle did not write anymore either. I truly miss them all… and I wonder if they knew and understood how much I enjoyed reading what they were writing.  

    I use my Xanga site to inform friends and family (most of them not Xanga members) of how I am feeling and what I am dealing with, in sort of “open letters”. Everyone important in my life, close to me, knows that this is “me”. Sometimes I write about World issues.

    Here is one that I like for you to read: http://daphnedench.xanga.com/766358156/why-and-when-do-we-comment/

    You made me laugh with what you wrote. I thought it was funny and well written, and I do understand about how you feel.

    I do not let myself carry away with the ones that are not nice, but I must say, in real life people like this are testing my self-control also and they make daily that I must search for ways to react and reply in emotional intelligent ways.

    It was nice for me to read what you wrote here in this blog. And I hope you will keep on writing. I would love to have more of the people back at Xanga who were great illustrators with words of life in general, living at places all over the world.

    Daphne Dench

  • I think we’ve all had our embarrassing moments when there’s drama involved. I wouldn’t worry too much about it. But I find that it’s definitely more relaxing when you find people here that are kind and don’t incite a lot of bullshit.

  • I’m feeling all angsty here, because I’m fairly sure I’m past the age of joining any group with “middle-aged” in the name, but being only marginally older than you, I hesitate to say so for fear of triggering age insecurity in someone barely younger than myself. That, in turn, would trigger the incessant Catholic guilt that I still struggle to shed and we all know how ugly that can be! So, would it be too wieldy to rename your fan club “Women of indeterminate ages who worship your writing”? Seeing as the name FF is already taken?

  • After reading the comments – it looks as though your fan base is still intact. Blog/comment unto others as you would have others blog/comment unto you. Just kidding.

  • The quality of information that you are providing is simply marvelous.

    cudo

  • I guess I have selected a mind blowing and interesting blog.

    cudo

  • I really wanna thank you for providing such informative and qualitative material so often.
    Your site is very informative and your articles are wonderful.
    click

  • Hey great stuff nice info your passing on
    free–credit-score.net

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *